• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Are Umbrella loan repayment pending?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Are Umbrella loan repayment pending?

Hi all

Making a post to see if anyone could help and point me the right direction regarding my use of an umbrella company. I’m not sure I can or should name them as they are still actively running and still looking for clients!

I was a locum junior doctor and was initially referred to the umbrella by my medical agency. They said all the right things and I naively took it for face value. I have now got a dose of reality. Either way I worked with them over three tax years. I recently got a letter from HMRC about settling. I contacted HMRC and detailed the amounts I think I should pay tax on and awaiting my bill for that.

My real and main concern now is what will happen now with my “loan” or “advance” with my umbrella. No particular mention of loans etc during their sales pitch. I was mislead into signing the contract after the classic reassurances about the trust looking out for me and effectively would not have to pay it back. This is looking highly unlikely and I assume once my umbrella goes under, which I suspect may be soon as their website has closed down. Is there anything I can do to clear my loan with them now? What is the likelihood that they will sell the loans on once they go under?

Anyone here have any details for solicitors who they had luck with in getting them out of this contract mess, either settling or other means.

Thanks