• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

If only they had had African Dads

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The only good book I read in English was All quiet on the Western front - written by a German.

Whichever Shakespeare play we studied was rubbish and The mayor of Casterbridge was tedious as hell.

If you want kids to engage then give them something that interests them - not a load of borax.

Comment

I don't remember studying Shakespeare at school.

That said, I don't remember anything I studied at school.

I firmly believe that English Literature should involve the study of literature written in English, not necessarily written by the English.

Comment

Originally posted by ladymuck View Post
        I don't remember studying Shakespeare at school.
        At least two classes in my school didn't study any Shakespeare for GCSE. Their teacher choose more modern works.

I am absolutely sure everyone did a Dickens novel.

"You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment

Originally posted by TheDude View Post
          The only good book I read in English was All quiet on the Western front - written by a German.

Whichever Shakespeare play we studied was rubbish and The mayor of Casterbridge was tedious as hell.

If you want kids to engage then give them something that interests them - not a load of borax.