• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

HMRC's time machine setting sights on all graduates!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

If I knew as a graduate I would have to pay a special "graduate tax" for the rest of my life, then I might not have chosen to go to University. You can't be given a choice and then 20 years later be told that you must now pay for that decision.

If the government wants to tax me for my degree course then perhaps they should refund me for the private schooling I put my 3 kids through (I put them through 3 years of private school, one kid at a time because that is what we can afford).

I'm all for social assistance but a line has to be drawn and successions of incompetent governments have created a beast of a social inequality problem that they are now finding it impossible to deal with. And they won't be able to fix it. It will all come crashing down here in Great Britain.

Comment

Originally posted by ChimpMaster View Post
      If I knew as a graduate I would have to pay a special "graduate tax" for the rest of my life, then I might not have chosen to go to University. You can't be given a choice and then 20 years later be told that you must now pay for that decision.

If the government wants to tax me for my degree course then perhaps they should refund me for the private schooling I put my 3 kids through (I put them through 3 years of private school, one kid at a time because that is what we can afford).