• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

set up agency to 'poach' contractors? advice/comments please

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

set up agency to 'poach' contractors? advice/comments please

hi,
    something I just thought of which I thought some people on hear might be able to give me some advice about.

I am a contractor working through an agency for a client. The client has a number of other contractors all through different agencies.

What if, the contractors would hand their notices in to leave and then I would employ them through my new agency to to the same job for the client.

Say for example the current agencies charge £6/hr on top of the contractors rate. My new agency would charge the client £5/hr and also give the contractor an extra £1/hr therefore making a profit of £4/hr.

Obviousely there are many factors to consider including the contractors and client beaing happy to do this but for the sake of argument presume that everyone is happy to do this.

I am just wondering -

a. is this feasable?
    b. is it legal?
    c. any thing else to think about?

Any help of advice/comments would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Originally posted by phillcooper View Post
    hi,
    something I just thought of which I thought some people on hear might be able to give me some advice about.

I am a contractor working through an agency for a client. The client has a number of other contractors all through different agencies.