• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

newbie desperdo

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

newbie desperdo

Hi all, I would really appreciate your help, this is my first try at being a contractor, been unemployed for over a year due to illness-the big C, over 10 yrs expience in financial services, I worked for lehman (trade support), reuters (data quality), pictet swiss (data mangt-corporate actions), national bank of Abu dhabi (asset mangt equity and fixed income). I applied for hundreds of permy jobs, went to few interviews with not much luck, either over qualified or no feedback. I have a degree in business and a postgraduate diploma in info systems, good knowledge of financial markets, trading platforms, excel, reuters Bloomberg. I want to find a BA role, it would suit my background, I haven't got a scoobydo where or how to start?!! Can't think right now it-s so depressing with a young family of 2 kids ....

If you want to contract as a BA then your CV must scream BA all over it.

In addition to get your first contract you must be willing to work anywhere in the country. The reason for this is that you have no track record as a contractor.
    "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment

It might suit your background but do you know what a BA actually does? I suspect agents and potential clients think not.

You may need to get qualifications as a BA before anyone looks at you. Take a look at ISEB - they have a BA Essentials course that may get you interviews.