• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

fixed term pro rata

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

fixed term pro rata

Hi Guys,

I am new to contracting as well as a beginner in IT(compared to other folks here :-))

I have recently been offered a fixed term pro rata contract of £40,000 for an initial period of 6 months.
    Working hours are 36 per week as well as I have the full annual holidays entitlement of 25 days(similar to permie full time employee) and will be taxed like a permanent employee.
    I would like to know my take home amount and how to calculate it. I have been told after 6 months most likely Iwill be taken as a permanent employee. Is there a catch here? From past experiences how does such contracts end up?

This is a short term employment contract. Find a PAYE calculator to work out your take home pay.
    Down with racism. Long live miscegenation!

Comment

and remember that 'most l likely' != 'definitely'.

They used that as the carrot for you to accept the contract - don't rely on the offer still being there at the end.
      "I can put any old tat in my sig, put quotes around it and attribute to someone of whom I've heard, to make it sound true."
      - Voltaire/Benjamin Franklin/Anne Frank...

Comment