• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Non-solicitation of Client clause.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Non-solicitation of Client clause.

Hi there.

Here's the situation:

I am a contractor working with my own ltd company for a large agency.
    My current contract is for a services company.
    I never goto this companies office I am based at home or on their own customers sites.
    One regular customer advertised a perminant role that I thought would be a great career move.
    This role was advertised to market, externally. The role is not the same role I am doing as part of my work with the services company, its a senior managment role.
    I applied, interviewed and have been transparent with thie company that has the role available.
    I got offered the job, subject to the clauses in my contract with the agency.

I am keen for any input to allow me to escape this clause without paying the 20% fee to the agency.

Could I just dissolve the ltd company and walk away?

I've renamed the clause numbers and agency name to protect the innocent, they

CONTRACT DETAILS:

The "contractor" is me, by name.

99. Non-solicitation of Client

99.1 Throughout the Assignment Term and for a period of 6 months afterwards the Contractor will not and will procure
    that the Personnel will not, other than with the written consent of AGENCY X, provide services similar to
    the Services or any information technology related services in any capacity either directly or indirectly to:

99.1.1 the Client;