• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Is CCNP enough?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is CCNP enough?

Hi

I am currently a serving soldier and I am just about to sign off and give contracting a go. Before I make the leap, I am looking for a little reassurance that I will be able to be employed. I need to earn at least £40000 a year from contracting.

I have the following Qualifications

CCNP
    HND Telecommunications
    CCNA Voice
    CCNA Security

This has been all self taught in a home lab environment. I have around 8 years experience in telecommunications, dealing with Promina and Sat Comms.

Your comments will be of great help.

Thanks

Hi Mammoth,

Moved to a pro forum. Good luck on your return to civvy street, hope it goes well for you.

Comment

Firstly, if you are looking at contracting make sure you are aware of what it is. You mentioned being employed. You are not employed as a contractor in the way you are thinking. You need to get your head around the whole set up for reasons mentioned below. Newbie guides are to the right and will help you understand your situation and not make any faux pas in front of agent and client.