• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Lining up multiple offers and timelines

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lining up multiple offers and timelines

I'm new to the contracting world and looking to start my first contract role, hoping I can get some advice on lining up multiple offers, timelines to accept and negotiating rates.

I recently had an offer come in, and they told me I had to accept the offer within 24 hours. Is this standard practice or a pressure tactic?

I told the other company I was in final stages with (They had a much higher rate) and they moved the final interview forward and gave me an offer within the 24 hours. As such I turned down the original company and went with the newer offer.

The next day I signed the contract for my accepted offer, then hours later they told me they were no longer hiring this role, and the position was withdrawn. I went back to the first company to see if they were still interested, they did some delaying tactics for a few days then came back and said they were unhappy I rejected them and have gone with someone else (I assume they were interviewing other candidates during the delay).

Is there anything I could have done to handle this better? I feel I rushed the second company to make a decision and they just accepted not to lose me, then changed their mind. Should I have accepted both roles and waited till they sent laptops out?