• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Notice period Issue

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Notice period Issue

Hello all,

I have been working through an umbrella company for the last 3 months on a contract. I decided to hand in notice recently and offered to work either 1 week if they were flexible or 2 weeks which is the actual notice period. I was happy to work the full 2 weeks but preferably one week. The next day the client terminates my contract with immediate effect. Do I have any rights seeing as I am an employee now and not an outside IR35 contractor? Should I have the right to work my notice and should they at least pay me for their notice period (Payment in lieu) I was willing to work the notice.

Thanks in advance

No - the entire point of contingent labour is that they can get rid of you with zero notice if no work is available.

No work is available therefore you won't be paid.
    merely at clientco for the entertainment

Comment

Originally posted by Samm View Post
      Hello all,