• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Civil Engineer Contracting to Permanentt

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Civil Engineer Contracting to Permanentt

Hi everyone, so this is quite a usual topic, but I I couldn't find one exactly as mine.
    So I'm a Civil engineer/project engineer working on railway projects mainly, but have experience with commercial/residential project as well. I've been contracting for last 5 years and it was great, never been out of work and all of my contracts lasting at least 1 year or more.
    I understand that future is hardly expected because of changes in Ir 35 rules, but I seem to get many offers all the time and do feel secure that there wouldn't be a time where I would be without work.
    My day rate is £330 at last 5 year average. Every time I've been offered a permanent position salary was around 40k so a direct no, but recently I've been offered 65 - 70k base salary and started thinking if it would make sense to go perm?
    It's not about security, because I know how easily perm staff can loose the job and as well I'm confident I would have work as a contractor.
    Would really appreciate your thoughts whether going perm in this situation would be beneficial because of all of the perks perm staff gets.