• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Previous contractor looking to return

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Previous contractor looking to return

A little bit of history:
    * I was a contractor for 20 years - C++, Java and C# development
    * Last 5 years I've been permanent - hands-on test automation (Java, REST-Assured, Selenium, Appium, Sauce Labs, etc) and performance testing (NeoLoad, Gatling, etc)

I've been promoted a few times but I'm starting to get tired of line management, interviewing, setting strategy, etc and look back fondly on my contractor days.

However, I've sent my CV for about a dozen well-matched roles on JobServe with zero response.

Is the market really that bad for technical testers?
    Is it possible to have too much experience? Am I too old at 52?
    Should I switch back to development?

Any advice appreciated!

Most contracts you find will fall within IR35 so you won't be bringing in as much money as 5 years ago.

You are better of finding another permanent job with decent employer pension contributions until people won't employ you due to age discrimination. (Yes it still exists even though it is illegal.)

I've had conversations with older permies and they say they just move around until they find an employer they like. Then they stay until they piss them off or can retire. This is why you want decent employer pension contributions.
    "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment