• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Fixed Price Contract (FPC) offer

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fixed Price Contract (FPC) offer

Hello all,

I contract for an investment bank in London. In the up coming IR35 blanket move - I have been offered 2 choices:

a) move to umbrella company
    b) Fixed Price contract (FPC) - the bank will write a SoW (statement of work). this will be via an agency in between.

Though I understand FPC conceptually/in theory, don't have any practical experience. I am a business analyst. I have 2 main concerns:

1) Though there is a lot of work ahead, there is no modular work/project type work that can be scoped/estimated. (It's more like constantly streaming work). I myself don't know what will I be working in 2 weeks time. So not sure what the client will put in the SoW?

2) I myself can not just own a piece of work and deliver as my work is dependent on a variety of people around me to get it completed.

Hence worried how will it work in practice? or is it just a way to circumvent IR35? I don't even know how will I estimate and quote price?

Any advice/stories will be appreciated from the point of view of my concerns above.

Thanks,
    Geekman
    Last edited by Geekman; 15 October 2020, 23:28.

Originally posted by Geekman View Post
    Hello all,

I contract for an investment bank in London. In the up coming IR35 blanket move - I have been offered 2 choices:

b) Fixed Price contract (FPC) - the bank will write a SoW (statement of work). this will be via an agency in between.