• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract is making me ill

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract is making me ill

I have been contracting for 12 years and have always got well paid contracts with big brands. I have had a bit of recognition for my work and whenever a contract has ended they've asked me to stay on.

My luck has changed. I hate my current contract. Everything is a number 1 priority for my manager and he is not confrontational. He fired the previous contractor without letting him know until the day I started. That guy still doesn't know what he did wrong.

There is something about his management style that is actively getting in the way of me doing my work. It isn't just the long conversations it's this kind of erratic way of interrupting what I'm doing all the time and micro managing. All previous managers have let me get on with my work.

I am getting two hours sleep a night in my bloody minded determination to get all the impossible tasks done. I am exhausted. I know if I complain he will smile and pretend to care and then replace me instantly (the chap who got fired thought they were the best of mates) and I really need to find a new contract first.

Plus he already knows I'm exhausted. My face is practically green, I don't look well. Co workers comment on how I manage to work for someone who micromanages so much. I know it isn't just me. I was always so good at my job. Now I feel I CAN'T be. It's horrible.