• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

IR35, retainer and an international client

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IR35, retainer and an international client

Hi there,

I am very new to the contracting world and have done some research on IR35 and am still unsure if I would be considered inside or outside.

I have found some topics on this which are quite dated and also didn't really fully enlighten me (https://www.contractoruk.com/forums/...n-company.html)

Overview:

I am a software engineer and my services are mainly helping to spec out a system, create it and then usually maintain it (fix issues and create new features).

I have one client at present who is based in Switzerland, I have never been asked to visit nor intend to. The contract we have is that I am expected to work a minimum period a month and so the invoices tend to be similar, they do sometimes burst depending on circumstances that month. I work from my own property using my own equipment, I am able to dictate (depending on spec and maybe other considerations) the tooling/languages/etc. I am not obliged to tell them when I take holiday. I am the only person currently working for my LTD so I would not at present be able to "send" a replacement, but I believe that someone with domain knowledge and enough experience would be able to pick up the work.