• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

In an absolute mess with Corporation Tax

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

In an absolute mess with Corporation Tax

I worked as a contractor between January and June 2017, and have left the company in non-trading status ever since. I have a £6000 corporation tax bill next month and had left more than enough to cover this in the company accounts.

However, my wallet was stolen and my cards used fraudulently. All my personal banks quickly moved to stop the transactions, and the one transaction that did get processed was paid back to me almost immediately.

However, my business banking provider - let's call them GashMinus - sanctioned £6000 of transactions across 13 quick-fire transactions, and then refused to indemnify me. I raised a complaint, emailed the CEO, and this is now with the Financial Ombudsman although despite chasing I have been advised I may not receive a decision this calendar year.

HMRC are not able to defer the bill, and will only offer a 12 month payment term plus 3% interest, which I can ill-afford at the moment.

I cannot do anything further with business bank as they will not discuss the matter while it is with the Ombudsman. I have raised the issue with the nationwide, call-centre style accountancy firm that I have used, and based on their recommendation have complained stating the bank had insufficient fraud protection.