• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Business idea - Feedback please

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Business idea - Feedback please

Hi All,

I am currently a project manager for an SME groundworks firm. We were going through a slow patch a few months back and had a lot of our heavy plant and machinery sitting around in the yard doing nothing. That is what gave me an idea to create a website which will enable peer to peer plant and equipment hire.

All new hirers and hirees will be credit checked and insurances checked to make sure they have the right cover, and all plant would have the documentation and photos uploaded. The hirer could set transport costs and radius (if they have the capacity) or the hiree would arrange transport. The hirer would set the length of the hire period so that they can get the equipment back when needed. The hire rates would be below the usual hire rates, so the hirer has plant and machinery bringing in some money instead of none and the hirer saves money on hire costs... win win!

I would really love some feedback (good or bad) from contractors, particularly ones who own plant and equipment. Thanks!

Almost everyone on here are IT contractors who won’t know your market. But they could probably build you a solution.

Sounds like a good idea to me. My concerns would be around insurance and being the middle man when things go wrong. Like breaking down equipment. Equipment being returned damaged etc.

Put feelers out within your industry to see if there would be a market.

Comment