• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

first contract....

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

first contract....

Hi All,

i'm new to contracting and was looking for some advise regarding a contract i have signed up to and so has the agency.
    however the various checks are taking a long time and the start date has already elapsed.
    currently it is at the crb check stage and though i have been told it will be done in next couple of days but i know this could take weeks.
    i just wanted to know other contractors' experience , as i'm concerned it might fall through altogether.....

Checks can always take their time, be it CRB or any other.

As to if it could fall through due to this reason, or this delay, then all contracts can always fall through at any time of the process for enumerate reasons.

If concerned, keep looking. No contract is a done deal until all signatures are in place and indeed, until the first day started.

Comment

If you have nothing to worry about Police & Credit Records wise then there is nothing to worry about. Still keep looking though its never done until its done & your sitting there on the last day having earned & got paid for the contract duration. Until that moment anything can & sometimes does happen. Also Agencies can play games if they think they can get a cheaper candidate than you that can cause a delay...……….

Comment

Originally posted by simes View Post
        Checks can always take their time, be it CRB or any other.