• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Blacklisted/Blackballed/Defamation What to do next?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Blacklisted/Blackballed/Defamation What to do next?

I was a contractor from 2006 to 2012. Since 2012 all work dried up. Initially I took legal advice at the end of 2012 when a contract offer was withdrawn reason given reference from my previous contract. In the end I did not take this any further as there was a lack of proof and I stupidly took advice from a connection in the recruitment world . Since then the situation has got worse and earlier this year I decided to ask for my records from various recruitment consultancies. So far it is not looking promising for four of them and I have notified the Information Commissioners Office. I have also taken further legal advice but I need further facts to pursue none of the previous contractors I worked with want to comment understandably. What I need is advice about what else I can do? The recent cases in the construction world highlight a problem but my question is why would I be blacklisted in the technology world? I do not hold any strong political views or belong to a union (I had my own company). What should my next steps be? Is there a known blacklisting in the technology world? Previous to this issue I struggled to find suitable work but there was enough work to live on but now I have not had paid work since early 2012. What can I do?

Welcome to the forum.

A few questions: