• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Switching between projects and IR35 status

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Switching between projects and IR35 status

Hello,

I am an IT contractor and have been working on a project for a London software consultancy for the last 6 months. I am outside IR35. 2 weeks ago, my contract was coming to an end and HR had not contacted me about renewing, so I flagged it up with management and said that I would be happy to renew if they were, and could they please send the paperwork through asap. That all happened and I signed the renewal (a simple amendment to the date period of the previous contract), so far so good.

Then last week I was told that the consultancy would like to move me onto a different project, which I am happy about as it will be more interesting work. However my contract states the name of the old project which I was working on and this is important for IR35. Being able to move me between projects as they see fit, could indicate that I am a disguised employee of the consultancy. So my question is what should I do in this situation to protect my IR35 status?

- Can I ask them to give me notice on the old contract (mutually agreeing 1 week say) and then immediately issue a new one?
    - Can I somehow cancel the renewal as if it never happened and issue a new contract?

I am an IPSE member and also have QDOS insurance so I probably will contact them also. Thanks in advance for your advice,

Freewill