• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

State of the Market

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

or get into training those grads for a pretty penny

Comment

Originally posted by PermMCCon View Post
      Hummmm, we are over simplifying again.

I have been involved in Programmes before where I was a contractor taking over the mess made by the previous contractor... very easy to make out permie's are bad and contractors are good, but its not quite like that.

I have met some incredible contractors and permies, plus a bad bunch of both too. We all have I'm sure.

But yes, on the subject of contractors trying to become permies there is a feeling that;

a) they always want too much money and want to match their salary to day rates
      b) they will go back to contracting if a "juicy" contract comes up

We don't help ourselves by always, ALWAYS falling into a) above, as that makes the employer automatically think of b) coming soon thereafter even if they hire the person.

Please try to remember that there are MANY advantages to permiedom, but earning a higher or matching salary to your contracting days is not one of them. If it happens, great well done you, but it is rarely the case.