• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Professional Career Change while contracting

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Professional Career Change while contracting

Hi,
    Newbie here so hit me softly.

I am looking for a bit of advice,
    I started contracting July 2015 (technical support/Service desk) but looking to go into other avenues like Business Analysts or PMO, I have an idea of both and had done the exams BA Foundation and Prince 2 Foundation too.
    My problem is with minimum experience and many other financial lust reasons I do not fancy gaining experience on the two avenues by going permanent.
    What chance do I stand getting contracts on any of them? (and yes I can sell myself just a little short until I can walk with my two legs).
    Any advice or pointers how to go about much appreciated.

Thanks

Originally posted by amabone
    Hi there,

I am a newbie contractor looking to change from tech support to the likes of Business Analyst or PMO of which I have less (minimum) experience on. However I try to avoid the option of go permie to gain experience on the two before try contracting again. With certainly the juicy monies reason (hit me softly here)
    How do I go about this, I take it I can try my chances and sell myself a little short for a while before demanding market rates?

Any advice much appreciated.
    Why would any client take on a contractor PMO or BA with minimum experience?
    Blood in your poo

Comment

If you have no experience then how do you show what you can do?