• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Handed in my notice, asked to cut it short.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Handed in my notice, asked to cut it short.

Hi,
    I'm fairly new to contracting and am still learning a lot! I am 3 weeks in to a 6 week contract. There was a 2 week notice period on my part, 1 week notice period on the clients. I have been offered another contract (longer term, better day rate, closer to home) so gave my notice last Friday and stressed I was more than happy to work my notice and tie up any loose ends before I left. Plus, more money in my pocket! My boss was fine and said she understood as it was only a short contract anyway.
    However, a new guy transferred here on Monday and my boss has already started getting him taking over my role. It's made things a bit awkward. Last night I got a call from my agent asking if I would fancy finishing this Friday instead of next because of "the awkwardness" - my boss' choice of words. I asked if I'd be paid as I was happy work my notice and they were asking me to finish up early. Agent has said I'll only be paid for the days I work.
    Can they, effectively, give me my notice after I've given mine? Is this how it usually works?
    Cheers!

I knew someone in the same situation and yes they can still give their notice.

Comment

First you are a contractor. You are your own boss.