• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Working from home allowed?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Working from home allowed?

Now, I work as a UX designer contractor (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/User_experience_design), I could do all my work from home, but it is generally "expected" that I work at the client's premises. It's like an unspoken rule. Every other UX, graphic design or web developer contractor I know do this.

But I can't get the thought out of my mind to work from home. It's a waste of time to commute and I'm much more efficient working at home at my own setup. Especially with the IR35 in place.

My contract states the following:

"Location
    7.1 The Company shall have the right, subject to the Client’s approval, to determine the location at which the Specified Services will be provided."

So, as far as I can tell, legally I could work from home. But what is this Client's approval? Can they disapprove my right?
    To be frank, if I tell my client that I would like to work from home, they will just say "What??" The works is at XY street, London. If I insist on my right I guess they would fire me. Or can they?

My notice period is immediate and I'm through a recruitment agency.

My question is: has anyone ever tried to use their right to work from home? If so how to go about this?

You need to agree with the client that you will work from home and come in if you need to. You should have talked about this when you interviewed/first met them to take on the assignment.