• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Politicians ignore the reality of Brexit

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Politicians ignore the reality of Brexit

I’m a lorry driver for a small logistics firm. I’ve had a couple of pay rises this year, from my boss who was desperate to keep hold of the drivers he has. But he couldn’t attract more, meaning he lost business and had to sell trucks that were sitting there, driverless, after tens of thousands of EU drivers left the country and couldn’t return, even if they wanted to. They aren’t classed as ‘skilled workers’ according to Priti Patel’s immigration laws.

It’s a small company, my boss couldn’t absorb my wage rises, so he had to pass them on to our customers. In turn, those companies can’t absorb these extra costs, so pass them on to all of us at the tills. This is happening to logistics all around the country and because almost everything is delivered with trucks, it’s a big part of the UK’s inflation. Caused directly by Brexit.

It’s known that Russia funded the leave campaign in various ways and now we know why. Putin wanted Europe to be weaker, so he could attack us. And it’s worked.
    I was in the army and signed a line declaring I would die for Queen and Country when I was 18. Now I’m 42 and I still feel like I have a sense of duty to my country. The National Rejoin March, at the start of the Rejoin campaign, is how I’ll fulfil it.