• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Dividends and salary

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dividends and salary

Hi

Im an IT contractor and earned around £20k last year ie not a lot. I have been self employed one year

I have salaries paid into a business account last year

I withdraw about £500 a week to live on and pay directly into a personal account to pay my direct debits etc. I have come to sign on mow and the jsa say because I have been earning £2000 a month I am not entitled to any benefits. I told them I dont have any money for food etc and they said go see the council

A contractor friend of mine said I should say I pay myself the minimum wage and say the rest is dividends.

I spoke to my accountant who emailed me this

Hi Andy

If you need £2,000.00 per month to live and pay your bills, that’s what you have to take. This would be taken as PAYE and dividends. The only accounts I have done so far is for the period from December 2012 to April 2013, so I’m not in a position to say anything until we do your next set of accounts.

I have attached the last 3 months payslips. Anything paid into your personal over and above this will be classed as a dividend. I assume you are not paying for any business items from your personal account.

The problem you may have is that you need a whole year to average wages and dividends out, and we have not done a whole year since the last account…"