• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Ltd Company Pay Employee Medical Bills

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ltd Company Pay Employee Medical Bills

Hi first post to the forums, forgive me if this isn't the correct location for such a post...

I'm a contractor trading through a ltd company.

Hurt my neck/back performing work duties. - Can I have ltd company pay for my osteopath sessions (£45 a week for around 8 weeks).

Do I need to submit a Doctor's note or a note from the Osteopath stating my injuries were almost certainly as a result of materials falling on top of me, alongside the receipts?

I've been looking at the HMRC's
    'wholly, exclusively and necessarily incurred in the performance of your duties’.
    but am confused to how this might apply to my back, which IS used outside of work...

I am able to continue to work on lighter duties, two sessions in and I'm seeing an improvement.

Well if the company provides medical insurance there is a set rate of tax, normally ripples through to your tax code, depending what kind of medical insurance you use is. This is sort of like self insurance by the company. So it is probably handled similarly, and my guess would be there is little advantage over just paying out of taxed money. But open to being corrected.

Comment

Generally, having your employee foot your medical bills is a BIK UNLESS you can show that the treatment is for an injury sustained carrying out your duties.

HM Revenue & Customs: Medical or dental treatment and insurance