• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Closing Ltd Co. ---> Umbrella 12 Months ---> Opening Ltd Co.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Closing Ltd Co. ---> Umbrella 12 Months ---> Opening Ltd Co.

First post so be kind!

Did do a quick search but couldn't find anything specific to this question so be great to get some opinions....

So, I've been contracting for about 3 years now and managed to build up a reserve of about 50k. Unfortunately I'm useless at saving and I want to get a mortgage and put a decent amount towards it so was considering closing the company and applying for entrepreneurs relief. I'm starting a new 6 month contract in a few weeks which I was thinking of undertaking via an umbrella company (not the best option for tax efficiencies but needs must...) Hopefully it gets renewed so the plan is to go Umbrella for about a year and then open up a new ltd company afterwards...

It gives me a good year between old and new companies so shouldn't raise any red flags with HMRC. What does everyone else think? Also, good way to get retained company earnings to use for something substantial i.e. mortgage. In essence, it's almost like contracting via ltd company, going perm for a year, then resuming contracting (albeit via a different ltd company).....

Opinions? Thanks for reading