• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Ltd vs Umbrella & IR35

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ltd vs Umbrella & IR35

Hi folks I'm new to contracting, just secured my first contract and have done my research over the last few days into the vehicle through which I should operate and the IR35 implications (along with all the tax/accounting calculations to see which is more tax efficient for me) but need help with an issue.

As you can imagine, IR35 is a concern for me as being found 'inside' by Hector is a real possibility. I've asked the agency for a copy of the contract to get it checked by myself and a review service like QDOS but they've said that contracts are only sent out once I've given them details of a Ltd co/umbrella co and am ready to sign it. This is a problem if I start a Ltd co, sign the contract and find out the contract and working practices point towards being 'inside' IR35 as the difference in net pay would only be £1.5k a year if I pay full PAYE and NI vs the umbrella route. One of their senior folk did say its definitely 'outside' IR35 and has been drafted by their lawyers rather than being cobbled together and they've reiterated their stance via email. Problem is, they said the client will not accept a subst. and presumably this is reflected in the contract. You can see why I don't share their conviction anymore that the contract is outside IR35 and my immediate gut feeling is that it's inside IR35.