• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Questions on dividends

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Questions on dividends

Hi I'm quite new to contracting and I seem to come up with more and more questions everyday. These might seem a bit basic, but I would really appreciate some advice.

If I pay the shareholder (me) a dividend out of my companies profits do those dividends need to paid on specific dates in the year (i.e. end of the quarter) or can I chose the dates they are paid ?

Am I entitled to any tax credit on the dividend tax? I read somewhere it was 10% as I have already paid corporation tax.

Does anyone have any example documentation that can be used to issue a dividends pay out ?

Finally, a bit of a side question, as I am the company director and its only employee, if I should take a permanent role in the future can I issue a P45 to myself?

That's it for today............

Advice greatly appreciated.
    Gavin

Originally posted by Gavwar View Post
    If I pay the shareholder (me) a dividend out of my companies profits do those dividends need to paid on specific dates in the year (i.e. end of the quarter) or can I chose the dates they are paid ?
    No - any dates will do.

Am I entitled to any tax credit on the dividend tax? I read somewhere it was 10% as I have already paid corporation tax.