• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Ltd company, secretary's salary

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ltd company, secretary's salary

Dear Contractors,

I am a self-employed contractor through My Own LTD Company. I am the whole and sole share holder of the LTD Company.
    My wife is working as Secretary to the company and I am paying her the minimum salary.

Now I am thinking of asking her to build a web-site for my company and for that I want to pay her some more. She is well qualified to do this job.

Can you please give me any suggestions?
    Will there be any problems with HMRC.
    How much do you think it will cost for this job?

I want to build a site on the content I am experienced. I will help her collecting the information and she will also involve in collecting the information on the subject and build the web-site and maintain it and adding new topics etc.

Regards
    G

I can't comment on the techi side, but as far as salary goes HMRC won't mind at all if you pay her extra for doing more work - you'll be paying tax and NI on it in full so it's not as if you're gaining any tax advanatge over employing a third party to do the work.
    ContractorUK Best Forum Adviser 2013

Comment

Why pay her a salary? You'll have to pay Employer's NI on it won't you, and go through all the employer hassle.

It might be preferable to just pay her as a consultant for the job at hand, say £5k which she can declare on her SA (I wouldn't know how though!)

Comment