• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Claiming Sponsorship Expense for Tuition

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Claiming Sponsorship Expense for Tuition

Hi,

If I am an IT contractor through my limited company, can my company sponsor my wife's university tuition fee for her phd research study and book it as a sponsorship expense for the company?

Thanks in advance for any helpful replies.

Regards,

Will this benefit the company? Is it anything to do with the companies main business?
    Last edited by northernladuk; 17 October 2010, 21:28.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by northernladuk View Post
      Will this benefit the company? Is it anything to do with the companies main business?
      It is not related to the company's main business and there is no direct benefit to the company.

Comment

Then I can't see it getting past your accountant or the tax man.

If it was related then you'd have a valid argument, if it isn't then it's a tax dodge and will be seen as such.
        "I can put any old tat in my sig, put quotes around it and attribute to someone of whom I've heard, to make it sound true."
        - Voltaire/Benjamin Franklin/Anne Frank...

Comment

Originally posted by mce View Post
          can my company sponsor my wife's university tuition fee for her phd research study and book it as a sponsorship expense for the company?