• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Is it possible to fire my agent?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is it possible to fire my agent?

I'm an experienced Java contractor, and I'm just coming to the end of my third contract with the same company. There is the offer of plenty more work with the same company, however I'm really not happy with the agency who placed me. Amongst other complaints, such as blatant lies, and taking a more than generous margin (which they don't realise I know), twice they have made serious accounting errors, one caught by my accountant when doing my end of year, and one caught be me which I could easily have overlooked had I not mistrusted them. I find this inexcusable considering I only submit 12 invoices a year. Am I bound to my initial agent if I want to continue with the same company? Does anyone out there have any experience with changing agencies, or have any advice?

Thanks in advance for any help,

Hugh

You may have signed away the option of doing that in your contract. Sometimes there is a clause about returning directly or via another agency. The only time I switched agencies was when (a very, very big) client co decided to put all its contractors through a single agency and we all got switched.
    Public Service Posting by the BBC - Bloggs Bulls**t Corp.
    Officially CUK certified - Thick as f**k.

Comment

It is likely there will be a clause in your contract about working back with the client direct or with another agency, or should I say about not doing it.