• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

If I worked one day a week how can I avoid paying...

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

If I worked one day a week how can I avoid paying...

Ok, so I'm new to contracting very new. Started a contract on friday and used Parasol as my Umbrella.

They charge a weekly fee of £28.50 or whatever it is, but seeing as a I only worked one day that week is there any way to avoid this? seems a bit crazy that it is taking half of my wages for that day.

Serious answers only please, thanks.

If that's their weekly charge then that's what you'll pay - even if you do only work one day. Are you normally going to be working one day a week or is it unusual? If it's normal then you might want to look at a different way of doing things, such as a limited company or moving to monthly payments if that is cheaper.
    Loopy Loo

Comment

One of the things about being a contractor, is that you have to deal with these agreements called "contracts". Once you've signed the "contract", then you have to abide by the terms. Now, you've got a "contract" with Parasol. In that you've agreed to make them a payment of £28.50 a week, no matter how many days you've actually worked in that week. That means you have to pay it.

The time to query it, and to negotiate is before you sign. Maybe another umbrella company would have given you a better deal - did you shop around?

Think of it as a life-lesson. Consider the implications before signing a contract.