• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Admin fee to Opt-in to Conduct Regs

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Admin fee to Opt-in to Conduct Regs

Hi, i'm new to contracting and have only just secured my second contract.

My first contract went without a hitch and is coming to an end now. Given this i went about securing another contract and have done so with a new agency only to find that they want to charge me an admin fee of £350 to opt-in to the conduct regulations. This doesn't seem right to me, especially given that it was not discussed (there was no mention of conduct regulations) and i have just learnt about it today in the form of a letter from the agency. I should also add that they kindly included an opt-out letter for me to sign and return.

They also state that i am automatically opted-in unless i opt out. I have already met client (interview) and this was not brought up before hand.

Am i right in thinking this is wrong or is it standard practice to try and rip off contractors every step of the way?

Thank you for your help,

CNewb

You're opted in unless you specifically opt out. You must opt out before you are introduced to the client. A CV being sent could be an introduction but an interview certainly is.

Tell the agency to get ****ed.

And name and shame.

Comment

You've got the contract. The client wants you. All the negotiating leverage is with you. The agency is unlikely to want to lose all that lovely commission for the sake of £350. Tell 'em to stuff it.