• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Overseas solutions + Orangegenie

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Overseas solutions + Orangegenie

Hi all

Has anyone had any experience of using an overseas firm (i.e Isle of Man)that essentially sets up a trust for you as a contractor? It keeps a retainer for you that is liable for tax and NI but any money paid to you via the trust are not retainable.

I do not fully understand the details of this and as a first time contractor I was heading down the route of going with an umbrella company.

On that note does anyone have any uptodate opinion on Orangegenie? I have searched all the stickies and found both positive and negative comments about them. Does anyone currently use them who is happy with their service?

Many thanks in advance.

Be careful not to fall for their 'max out' expenses shown on their pay calculator

Comment

Do a search for Loans / Trusts / EBTs etc on this site and you'll find plenty of opinions both ways.

Comment

The key point to remember is that EBTs are now illegal in the UK. So if you are a first time contractor, with presumably limited knowledge and experience of the business, do you hink it 's a good idea to use a route that 99.9% of your fellow contractors don't? Perhaps we're all wrong, and are deluding ourselves that LtdCo or Umbrella are the only viable options.