• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Greater retained profits than cash in bank?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Greater retained profits than cash in bank?

I've been contracting through my Ltd for 13 years.

When the Ltd was setup, I started with nothing in the company account, work performed, invoices sent and paid etc.

Since I've been inside IR35, 95% of revenue was paid as salary/pension. 5% profit, some expenses etc, small amount of corp tax paid on the remainder.

Now I'm in a position that the company has more retained profit than I have cash in the bank. The difference is around 15k.

I've just switched accountant for the first time, and have asked the new accountant to look into it, but my question; is this normal?

My simple understanding of a typical year; 100K revenue, Salary/Pension: 95k, Corp tax: 950 = 4k retained profit.

What am I missing? (besides 15k! )

This is normal and is a feature of standard accounting practise and whether a given transaction affects the P&L or the balance sheet.

Retained earnings are the accumulation of profit over the years and does not equal cash in the bank because not every accounting transaction is a cash transaction.

Comment

I've had a few instances where the cash in bank was greater than retained profit due to VAT and corporation tax due.

Also depending on your payment terms (30 - 60 - 90 days), your accounting balance might show profit but the money is still not in the bank so you can't extract it until you get paid.