• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

UK tax advice on founding and contracting for a US C-corp

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

UK tax advice on founding and contracting for a US C-corp

Hello everyone,

I am writing to ask for advice, if possible, regarding an opportunity that I have.

I work as a full-time employee (software developer) for a UK company. I am currently considering co-founding a startup (a US C-corp) with a friend of mine (he is a US citizen and resident). I tried to gather as much information on this as possible but it is still unclear to me what the tax implications would be for me as a UK resident. I would be grateful if anyone could help me with my understanding of this matter. My main concern is that I may be committing to something that causes me problems later on (e.g. having to pay tax bills or penalties that I cannot afford).

The facts are:
    • As co-founder, I will be purchasing 45% of the Company shares for their par value (the Company has no funding, no clients, no MVP, etc. so, I presume, null "fair market value"). The shares are restricted and subject to vesting according to a predefined schedule.
    • No dividends will be paid by the Company in the foreseeable future, so I would probably postpone any consideration on dividends, for the time being.