• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Redundancy payment options with MVL

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Redundancy payment options with MVL

I have moved with Umbrella from April 2021 and was operating via my limited company til April for last 10 years.
    Do the regulations allow for redundancy payments? My accountant has advised that I can pay myself £30K tax free.
    Like many, I was operating as an employee through a limited company to a third party where I am a contractor.
    Third party stipulated that we were inside IR35 and advised that we go through approved umbrella companies
    under standard PAYE terms.
    My company, of which I have been an employee for the past 10 years, and joint shareholder with my wife,
    will therefore closing soon. It will have no other income.
    My own personal circumstances are unchanged - I have continued to contract to the same end client, by simply
    switching contracts from one employer, my company, to another, the umbrella company.
    Do the regulations allow for non taxable redundancy payments by the company to the employee in such situations?

Has anybody done this? Are there any steps to follow before I contact MVL companies? Any recommendations please?

Regards Si

https://www.google.com/search?q=site...com+redundancy

Are you 100% sure you are/were an employee of your company? Do you have a contract you could show HMRC?
    Last edited by Paralytic; 22 October 2021, 15:19.

Comment

Originally posted by SKG View Post