• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Remote european IT contract (client in Germany, Ltd company in UK)

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Remote european IT contract (client in Germany, Ltd company in UK)

Hello

I'm an IT contractor (currently under an umbrella company). I have been offered a contract (fully remote) with a German company, and the recruiter (who is UK based) has mentioned this is outside IR35. I still have my own Limited company operational, although I am trading (at the moment) via an Umbrella.

The question I have is that this company will pay in Euros, and my recruiter and I have agreed upon a day rate in GBP. I wanted to know how does this work?

The german company will need to pay a set day rate (say x euros per day). This will vary daily in terms of GBP due to daily currency fluctuations. I assume I bear the brunt of any fluctuations in conversion rates (which I'm hoping wont be too much), however I'm not sure what the implications then are for the conversion charge (or other charges) when EUR and deposited into my company's bank account (which is UK based in GBP)

Does anyone have any experience of potential pitfalls to look out for when dealing with a european contract?

Thanks in advance
    Baz
    Last edited by bazuzu; 5 May 2021, 13:40.