• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New to LTDCo - Amazon Business/VAT query

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to LTDCo - Amazon Business/VAT query

Hi all,

Please bear with me as I'm brand new to all this and still learning a lot. I've asked a lot of questions of my accountant, but I found this forum whilst searching various things of interest, and thought it looked like an excellent resource.

I've set up my first ever limited company, VAT registered (not flat rate), and currently working an outside IR35 contract. I signed up for an Amazon Business account (for no better reason than that I could!) and added my VAT number to it. What intrigues me is that Amazon Business seem to be charging me the ex-VAT amount on my credit card when I make purchases. I'm entering these charges into the accounting system with 0% VAT as advised by my accountant, but I'm really curious about how it all works.

For example, how do Amazon know that I've earned enough money (which naturally I'll have charged VAT on) to be able to reclaim VAT on a specific purchase? Do they report purchases to the HMRC which would be tallied up (e.g. in an audit situation)? Do I have any legal requirements to declare my VAT free purchases from Amazon Business to the HMRC (other than sharing the 0% VAT rated invoices)?