• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Retaining VAT Monies

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Retaining VAT Monies

Hi,

Newbie here so I hope I'm not missing a trick with this question as I cannot get an answer I trust from HMRC. We've just set up as a Ltd company (OH is a IT contractor in the private sector and is inside HMRC) and my question relates to VAT. We will be obviously be charging 20% VAT on all invoices and being on the Higher Rate will only need to pay HMRC 15.5% for the first year of trading. Being inside IR35 means that we can't really claim anything back so so're not really going to have anything to offset.

With this in mind and what I've been told by HMRC today, we get to keep the 4.5% so my questions are, is this true and if so, will we need to pay tax on that 4.5%?

Can't quite believe it if it is true

Many thanks in advance.

What did your accountant say?
    Last edited by northernladuk; 15 August 2017, 14:50.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

It doesn't work out to be 4.5% extra for you to then take as salary. You charge 20% on your day rate and then pay 15.5% VAT on the total invoice including VAT to HMRC.

Comment

This help?

http://forums.contractoruk.com/accou...at-frs-ct.html

(OH is a IT contractor in the private sector and is inside HMRC)
        What is 'inside HMRC'?
        'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

you mean "Flate Rate" rather than "higher rate"? Don't you?