• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Side project using the money from my limited company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Side project using the money from my limited company

Hi all,
    I'm a software engineer and I work as a contractor (I've an LTD).

Now I'm about to start an eCommerce. My question is:
    Can I use my LTD to sustain this eCommerce as well? Can I pay form advertisement? Can I get payed there for the products I'm going to sell?

Originally posted by Mid90 View Post
    Hi all,
    I'm a software engineer and I work as a contractor (I've an LTD).

Now I'm about to start an eCommerce. My question is:
    Can I use my LTD to sustain this eCommerce as well? Can I pay form advertisement? Can I get payed there for the products I'm going to sell?
    Yes you can, but talk to your accountant about it as there may well be issues with things like VAT reporting etc. if what you are selling carries a different VAT rating to the one you are using atm. (assuming you are on the FRS).
    "Being nice costs nothing and sometimes gets you extra bacon" - Pondlife.

Comment

Originally posted by DaveB View Post
      Yes you can, but talk to your accountant about it as there may well be issues with things like VAT reporting etc. if what you are selling carries a different VAT rating to the one you are using atm. (assuming you are on the FRS).
      Of course, the simple solution to this would be to come off the FRS, which may make sense anyway if you're going to be buying stuff to sell.