• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Taking more than alotted holiday time as a permie.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by TheFaQQer View Post
    I've done it when I was permanent - I took a month off unpaid because I needed to get away from the place...
    Back when I was a manager, one of my staff (Nel) asked for unpaid leave on the grounds that he was finding it difficult to cope and just needed a break. I discussed with the HR rep., and we told him to make an appointment with the company doctor. The doc diagnosed stress, and signed Nel off for four weeks on sick (full pay), with the proviso that he have a few tests "just in case".

Nel got a call a few days later. "Please come into hospital. Probably best you don't drive". Turned out it was a brain tumour. Surgery was successful, but unfortunately it turned out to be malignant. The tumour came back and he died two years later. If he hadn't seen a doctor, he'd've been dead in a few months.

The HR director authorised an ex-gratia payment to fully make up Nel's pension, so his widow and daughter got full pension.
    Down with racism. Long live miscegenation!

Comment

It's pretty much at the company's discretion. Some see it as a favour - if you've worked there for (say) five years, you can take a sabbatical. Of course they might just think they're paying you too much if you can afford unpaid breaks.

Comment

Well that story really cheered me up NAT.. Thanks
        'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment