• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Claiming certification exam fees as expenses

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Claiming certification exam fees as expenses

So I've had a look at the training expenses guide, and wanted to be sure I understood it properly.

IT contractor guide to training expenses :: Contractor UK

This would be me as sole proprietor of my Ltd, claiming for exams that I would take myself.

The "capital vs revenue" rule seems to exclude most types of training course, but if I self-taught (or took a course but didn't claim expenses for it), then wouldn't the exam fees on their own be allowable? On the basis that I was certifying knowledge I already possessed, even if I only gained that knowledge recently. The exams I want to take are for things I already know quite well, and I'm planning to fill any gaps in my experience by home study from textbooks, practice exams, Youtube etc.

Would this depend on the person requirements for any work I was undertaking, ie that I could only claim for things my client insisted on? In that case, what about exams taken on spec before I am offered a contract, but which are likely to be useful in getting one?

Finally, I haven't set up my Ltd yet. Been working thru a brolly until now. Would I need to launch the company before taking the exams, and would the company need to book and pay for them through its own bank account?