• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Up to 90%

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Up to 90%

Hi All,

Long time reader first time contributer

I have been contracting for a few years now and used to work through an umbrella and then moved on to a limited company. Before I moved to Ltd I was looking at moving to one provider who was offering "up to 90% and after reading the comments on here I quickly abandoned that idea and went for the LTD company set up.

I have since been contacted by a provider (not sure how they got my details) and are offering up to 90% again and they went through how it all worked etc and although it does sound too good to be true they are very convincing.

Is there anyone on here who has had first hand experience of using one because looking back at some of the threads from 2009 people are saying "the HMRC will close these down" and they are on "HMRC Radar" however they are still going so would that not suggest they are ok?

Basically what they are saying is the that the loan will be issued to me by a trust and I will be a beneficiary which means I will be protected by trust law when it comes to repaying as the trustees will have to act in my best interests so if its not in my best interests to repay it I wont have to.

They said the loan is a true loan and it cant be written off as it will cause a taxable event.

Any help would be appreciated as I dont know anything about trusts or how they work.

Work your way through this: HMRC Scheme Enquiries