• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Confused Newbie regarding 24 month rule (yes another one)

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Confused Newbie regarding 24 month rule (yes another one)

Hi I am very confused and would appreciate any help that the community can give me in clarifying my position.

I am a contractor and have been working with the same company through an agency for 2 years, I have no guarantee of work although the work has been enough to keep me from jumping ship.
    I usually get told the week before what work I will have for the following week and I don't get paid if there is no work, The work involves a lot of travel as I cover most of the uk and Ireland and I normally spend between 1 and 2 days at any given site (I go and do work on other company's premises to deliver my company's product)

My agency has sent a new contract to my umbrella company for another year and my umbrella company have said as this is over the 2 year rule I can not claim for travel anymore.
    As I am travelling to a different site with each job I thought that each work place would be a temporary place of work?
    To give an example I could be in Newcastle on Monday, Aberdeen on Wednesday and Manchester on Thursday.

I had a look at the gov web site and it wasn't very clear, What i got from it - it is not the length of contract but the length of time at any given location?