• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Umbrella companies and employment issues

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Umbrella companies and employment issues

Hello all,

I am hoping someone can help me with some of the below queries as I am fairly new to working under an Umbrella Company.

Do umbrella companies have to follow all standard employment laws?

Is it ok for them to constantly make admin errors on a weekly basis ranging from not paying me on time, causing issues with holiday pay and always issuing me with a payslip after I have been paid so I have no time to raise any concerns with my pay?

I have raised issues with them where I have had concerns regarding data protection, issues with fees, a conflict of address on payslip/contract however when they respond to my emails they continue to disregard the nature of my questions. As a result I stated I will consider taking legal action if required due to not getting my questions answered and now they have stated they cannot make any further comments until they have spoken to their employment lawyer which is quite concerning as these issues have been on going for over a month.

I don't really want to escalate these issues any further unless I really have to as all I am looking for are answers to some of my queries so I can put my mind at rest.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Is your agency self billing or do you send your timesheets to the umbrella first?