• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

IR35 Consultation Responses?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by webberg View Post
    The point raised above about a long term contractor suing for employment rights is probably exactly why the HMRC papers make the distinction about not becoming an employee.

I wonder what would happen if most contractors said "OK, forget it, either I work as an employee or not at all!" would make the Red Book arithmetic interesting?
    I don't fully understand this but its still think you are missing the very fundamental point . This has nothing to do how an employer sees a contractor. HMRC couldn't care less about the employment status. They are just about correcting the tax which ever status the person has.
    In the case that you mention HMRC should have been hovering like vultures as the guy proved he was in deemed employment so effectively shaft himself IR35. That said HMRC would have still cocked up and lost the case :suicide

But as I say... I still don't think you've grasped exactly what IR35 is trying to do which is pretty fundamental to the whole thing.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by LisaContractorUmbrella View Post
      how long will it be before someone challenges it from the employment law side and demands employee rights?