• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Linq to SQL, Linq to Entites or Ado.net for web 2.0 project

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Linq to SQL, Linq to Entites or Ado.net for web 2.0 project

Hi,

My question is if you want to develop a web2.0 project (social network) would you use Linq to SQL, Linq to Entites or ADO.NET directly? Assuming that only choice is Microsoft stack at the moment.

My main concerns are performance and ability to switch to MySql or any other open source database if needed.

As an embedded C developer I am a bit stuck about how to start basically..

Thanks.

I'm fairly sure Linq will work against any sensible DB, certainly not MS-only.

MS have stopped supporting one (at least) of the Linq versions IIRC so you might want to check up on that, probably some .NET bod like DimPrawn or Gentile will chip in.

I thought Linq was wonderful when I used it in a small way.
    Originally posted by MaryPoppins
    I'd still not breastfeed a nazi
    Originally posted by vetran
    Urine is quite nourishing

Comment

If changing the backend database is a real possibility, you want to separate the data access layer as much as possible from the application.

I'd go with Entity Framework - there will be a lot less to change if/when you do switch dbs.

Comment

Originally posted by bilgehan View Post
        Hi,

My question is if you want to develop a web2.0 project (social network) would you use Linq to SQL, Linq to Entites or ADO.NET directly? Assuming that only choice is Microsoft stack at the moment.